Costs & Paying for College

Reduced Tuition for Southern New Hampshire Residents

The University of Massachusetts Lowell's Proximity Regional Rates Program offers a reduced tuition rate for undergraduate students living in Southern New Hampshire. Eligibility is extended to students whose permanent residence is closer to UMass Lowell than to their home-state institution offering the same program.

This program also applies to undergraduate students whose hometown requires them to attend a regional high school, and this regional high school is closer to UMass Lowell than the home-state institution offering the same program. The reduction translates into a savings of more than $6,000 annually for undergraduates.

Part-time students will have a comparable percentage reduction in their cost per credit hour.

(Note: Tuition and fees are set each year. Please confirm the latest rates on the Student Financial Services website.) 

This program was developed in response to the many highly-qualified Southern New Hampshire students seeking a world-class University education close to home. 

The Proximity Regional Rate program is based on a provision of the New England Board of Higher Education Regional Student Program (NERSP). The proximity program does not change in any way the provisions and costs of the NERSP.

Participating students are eligible for on-campus housing.

Proximity Regional Program Qualifying Towns

To qualify for Proximity rates, Southern New Hampshire students must have a permanent residence that is closer to UMass Lowell than to their home-state institution offering the same program. Eligibility is also extended to specific towns in Southern New Hampshire whose residents are required to attend a regional high school that is closer to UMass Lowell than their home-state institution offering the same program. 

Qualifying cities and towns include: 

City or Town Zip Codes City or Town Zip Code
Amherst 03031 Londonderry 03053
Atkinson 03811 Lyndeborough 03082
Auburn 03032 Manchester 03101, 03102, 03103, 03104, 03105, 03106, 03107, 03108, 03109, 03111
Bedford 03110 Mason 03048
Brookline 03033 Merrimack 03054
Chester 03036 Milford 03055
Danville 03819 Mont Vernon 03057
Derry 03038 Nashua 03060, 03061, 03062, 03063, 03064
East Derry 03041 New Boston 03070
East Hampstead 03826 North Salem 03073
Goffstown 03045 Pelham 03076
Greenville 03048 Plaistow 03865
Hampstead 03841 Salem 03079
Hollis 03049 Sandown 03873
Hookset 03106 Wilton 03086
Hudson 03051 Windham 03087
Litchfield 03052

Students living in Atkinson, Brookline, Hollis, Hudson, Nashua, North Salem, Pelham, Plaistow, Salem and Windham qualify for the Proximity Rate for all majors. 

Undergraduates whose permanent residence is geographically closer to UNH-Manchester qualify for Proximity rates for all majors except English, History, Psychology and Undeclared. This includes residents of Amherst, Auburn, Bedford, Chester, Danville, Derry, East Derry, East Hampstead, Goffstown, Greenville, Hampstead, Litchfield, Londonderry, Lyndeborough, Manchester, Mason, Merrimack, Milford, Mont Vernon, New Boston, Sandown and Wilton.

Proximity rate students are eligible for on-campus housing from their first semester. 

This offer is based on the proximity provision of the New England Regional Student Program (NERSP) conducted by the New England Board of Higher Education. Students from any part of New Hampshire enrolled in RSP-qualifying majors (undergraduate programs include Community Health Education, Meteorology, Music Business, Nuclear Engineering, Plastics Engineering, Radiological Health Physics and Sound Recording Technology) will continue to be eligible for the New England Regional Program tuition and fees. 

For additional information, please contact the Office of Undergraduate Admissions at 978-934-3931.