Office of the Provost

International Partnerships & Exchanges

UMass Lowell has academic partnerships with 120 universities in 44 countries in Europe, Asia, Africa, the Middle East, North America and Australia. Our international collaborations and partnerships enhance the quality of education that we provide to our students. These partnerships offer our students meaningful and substantive international learning experiences, including traditional study abroad, research, internships and experiential learning.

View the list of UMass Lowell International partners, or view the map.

Partner Institutions and Directors

The University of Massachusetts system and UMass Lowell offer several Research study abroad programs. At UMass Lowell, a professor serves as Director of Partnerships for each country. 

The following is a list of existing UMass Lowell International partners. The list is organized in alphabetical order for each country (by continent) where the Partner Institution is located.

To find a location, you can click on the appropriate continent: Africa - Asia - Australia - Europe - Middle East - North America (Canada) - South America.

Country Director of Partnerships Partner Institutions
Kenya Ahmed Abdelal, Provost
University of Nairobi
Nigeria Oliver Ibe, Engineering
University of Ilorin
South Africa Charlotte Mandell, Provost's Office
University of Western Cape
University of Cape Town
Cambodia George Chigas, Cultural Studies Pannasastra University of Cambodia
Cambodia Mekong University
China Jed Wang, Computer Science Tsinghua University
Nanfang College, of Sun Yat-Sen University
NeoUnion Education Science and Culture Organization
Northwest University
Xi'an Jiaotong University
Beijing University of Post and Telecommunications
Shandong Academy of Sciences
CERNET Education
Huazhong University of Science and Technology
University of Shanghai for Science and Technology
Dalian Nationalities University
India Krishna Vedula, Provost's Office

Jaypee University for Engineering and Technology  
Vignan University 
B.V. Bhoomaraddi College of Engineering and Technology 
B.V. Raju Institute of Technology
S.R. International Institute
Birla Institute of Technology and Science
Jaypee Institute of Information Technology
S.R. Engineering College
Jaypee University of Information Technology
Siddharth Group of Engineering Institutions, Puttur

Indian Institute of Technology, Gandhinagar

Heritage Institute of Technology, Kolkata

Bengal Engineering and Science University

Supriya Chakrabarti, Physics Indian Institute of Technology, Gandhinagar
Heritage Institute of Technology, Kolkata
Japan Donald Pierson, Provost's Office Iwate University
South Korea Minjeong Kim, Education Yonsei University
Dongguk University
Chungbuk University
KAIST (pending)
Seoul National University (pending)
Macau Stephen Seravara, Criminal Justice University of Macau
Taiwan Tzu Yang Yu Chung Yuan Christian University
National Chung Hsin University
National Taipei University of Technology
Thailand Susan Woskie, Work Environment Mahidol University
Vietnam Khanh Dinh, Psychology Hanoi University of Science and Technology
Vietnam National University
University of Economics & Business - Hanoi 
University of Economics – Ho Chi Minh City
Queensland Eva Buzawa, Music
Griffith University
Macquarie University (pending)
Austria Kathryn Carter, Dean, College of Business FH JOANNEUM University of Applied Sciences
Czech Republic Jana Sladkova, Psychology Academy of Performing Arts in Prague
University of New York in Prague
Czech Technical University in Prague
Charles University
France Arno Minkkinen, Art École Supérieure d'arts et medias de Caen/Cherbourg
Germany Robert Giles, Physics Universities in the State of Hessen
University of Heidelberg
Hochschule Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences
Greece Chronis Stamatiadis, Engineering
Andrew Hostetler, Psychology
Luis Falcón, Dean-FAHSS
Aristotle University
American College of Greece

University of Athens (pending)
Consulate of Greece in Boston
Ireland Steven McCarthy, Engineering
Francis Talty, Political Science
Ann Marie Hurley, Mathematics
National University of Ireland, Galway
Dublin City University
Queens University
University of Ulster
Netherlands Andrew Harris, Criminal Justice Avans University (pending)
Italy Monica Galizzi, Economics

University of Poggia
University of Modena and Reggio Emilia

Poland Robert Giles, Physics
Stephen Mishol, Art
Adam Mickiewicz University
Portugal Luis Falcón, Dean-FAHSS University of Lisbon
University of Minho (pending)
Russia Anna Yaroslavsky, Physics Saratov State University
Moscow State University (pending)
Scotland James Byrne, Criminal Justice University of Glasgow
Slovenia Ahmed Abdelal, Provost EMUNI
Spain Maria Matz, Cultural Studies Autonomous University of Madrid
Autonomous U of Barcelona
University of Valencia
University of Cadiz
Complutense University of Madrid
Technical University of Madrid (pending)
University of Granada
Turkey Alkim Akyurtlu, Engineering 
Nese Orbey, Engineering
Bilkent University 
Bahcesehir University 
Yediteppe University 
Middle East Technical University
Dogus University
Instanbul Kemerburgaz University
Ukraine Steve Pennell, Mathematics Donetsk University
Middle East
Egypt Ahmed Abdelal, Provost Cairo University
British University of Egypt
Israel Paula Rayman, Sociology
Steve McCarthy, Engineering
Haifa University
Shenkar University
Ben Gurion University
Jordan Mufeed Mahd, Engineering
Ziyad Salameh, Engineering
Yarouk University
University of Petra
Lebanon Ahmed Abdelal, Provost Beirut Arab University
Lebanese American University
Palestine Paula Rayman, Sociology Birzeit University 
An Najah University
United Arab Emirates Wael Kamal, Art Sharjah University
North America (Canada)
Quebec Carole Salmon, Cultural Studies Cegep Beauce-Appalaches
Mexico David Turcotte, Economics University of Sonora
South America
Ecuador Laura Punnett, Work Environment Technological University Equinoctial
Peru Maria Brunette, College of Health Sciences

University of Lima
National Engineering University

University of San Marcos
National University of Huancevalica